The storySouth 2007 Million Writers Award

The winner of the 2007 Million Writers Award for best online short story published during the previous year is "Urchins, While Swimming" by Catherynne M. Valente, published in Clarkesword Magazine. Valente's story received 31% of the public vote. The runner-ups were "All the Way to Grangeville" by A. Ray Norsworthy (Eclectica Magazine) and "The Infinite Monkey Theorem" by Marshall Moore (Word Riot).

This year's award was sponsored by the Edit Red Writing Community (formerly known as Spoiled Ink). As a result of this sponsorship, the award featured a $300 prize for the overall winner and $50 memberships to Edit Red for the authors of the top ten stories of the year.

For additional questions or inquiries about the Million Writers Award, contact storySouth editor Jason Sanford at

Return to the main Million Writers Award page