The storySouth 2009 Million Writers Award

The winners of the 2009 Million Writers Award are:

  1. First place: "The Fisherman's Wife" by Jenny Williams (LitNImage)
  2. Runner-up: "Fuckbuddy" by Roderic Crooks (Eyeshot)
  3. Honorable mention (third place): "No Bullets in the House" by Geronimo Madrid (Drunken Boat)

The complete results of the public vote are available here. Congratulations to the winners and thanks to everyone who took part in this year's award.

More Million Writers Award information

The top ten stories of the year were:

To see the other stories which made Jason Sanford's short list for the top ten, go to his blog and website (and specifically this post).

Thanks to the generosity of numerous donors, this year's award features the following monetary prizes:

  • Overall winner: $500
  • Runner-up: $200
  • Honorable mention (third place): $100

2009 Million Writers Award Information

Previous Million Writers Awards

2009 Donors

Thank you to the following donors, whose generosity funds the monetary prizes given out through this year's Million Writers Award.

$200 donors

  • One anonymous donation
  • WordArts, Inc.

$100 donor

  • Henry F. Tonn

$50 donors

Other donations

For additional questions or inquiries about the Million Writers Award, contact storySouth founding editor Jason Sanford at

Return to the main Million Writers Award page