The storySouth 2010 Million Writers Award

The winners of the 2010 Million Writers Award are:

First Place (Overall winner): "Hospitality" by Summer Block (from Wheelhouse Magazine)
Runner Up:
"Eros, Philia, Agape" by Rachel Swirsky (from
Honorable mention:
"Ditch" by Eric Beetner (PDF download, from Thuglit)

Thanks to everyone who took part in this year's award, whether by voting, reading, or nominating stories. Thanks to our generous donors, this year the prizes were:

  • First place: $400, plus the $100 ThinkGeek gift certificate and a one-year Greatest Uncommon Denominator subscription;
  • Runner-up: $200, plus PDFs of GUD magazine;
  • Honorable mention: $50, plus PDFs of GUD magazine.

Here are the top ten stories of 2009, from which the public voted for their favorite stories:

Information about the 2011 Million Writers Award will be posted on the website of Jason Sanford in the coming months.

2010 Million Writers Award Information

Previous Million Writers Awards

2010 Donors

Many thanks to the following donors for funding the prize money for this year's award. Since these donations do not go through Spring Garden Press (storySouth's publisher), donations are not tax deductible. But please note the entire donated amount is used for prize money, minus the small fee PayPal deducts for transmitting the money.

$100 donations

$50 donations

$25 donations

Other donations

For additional questions or inquiries about the Million Writers Award, contact storySouth founding editor Jason Sanford at

Return to the main Million Writers Award page