The storySouth 2011 Million Writers Award

The winners of the 2011 storySouth Million Writers Award were:

The prizes for this year's award were:

  • First place: $600 plus the $100 gift certificate from ThinkGeek
  • Runner-up: $200
  • Honorable mention/third place: $100

Top Ten Judges

This year two judges picked the top ten stories from the 158 notable stories. The judges were D. Antwan Stewart and Jason Sanford.

D. Antwan Stewart is the author of The Terribly Beautiful (2006) and Sotto Voce (2008), both Editor's Choice Selections in the Main Street Rag Poetry Chapbook Series. Recent poems appear in The Best Gay Poetry 2008, Callaloo, Meridian, Many Mountains Moving, Verse Daily and others. He is an assistant editor for the online poetry journal Anti- and lives in Knoxville, Tennessee, where he waits tables while working on his first full-length poetry manuscript.

In addition to running the Million Writers Award, Jason Sanford is the author of a number of short stories, essays, and articles. Many of his short stories have been published in the British SF magazine Interzone, which devoted a special issue to his fiction in December 2010. His fiction has also been published in Year's Best SF 14 , Analog, Orson Scott Card's Intergalactic Medicine Show, Tales of the Unanticipated, The Mississippi Review, Diagram, Pindeldyboz, and other places. Jason's new short story collection is titled Never Never Stories.

Quick links to 2011 Million Writers Award

Previous Million Writers Awards

2011 Donors

$100 donations

$75 donations

  • One anonymous donation

$50 donations

$20-49 donations

Other donations

For additional questions or inquiries about the Million Writers Award, contact storySouth founding editor Jason Sanford at For general updates about the award, be sure to check out Jason's website and his Twitter account.

Return to the main Million Writers Award page