The 2013 storySouth Million Writers Award


First place: “Chlorine Mermaid” by Rachel Steiger-Meister
Published in Carve Magazine

Rachel Steiger-Meister is a doctoral candidate in English and Comparative Literature and Fiction Writing at the University of Cincinnati, where she teaches courses in fantasy writing, fiction writing, and LGBTQ literature. She holds a BA in Gender Studies from Brown University, where she received the Weston Prize in Creative Writing, and an MA in English Literature from Wright State University. ”Chlorine Mermaid,” received Carve Magazine’s 2012 Esoteric Award for LGBT-themed fiction. In 2011, Rachel served as the guest fiction editor for the “Fairy Tales” issue of Lavender Review. She has presented her fiction and literary critical work at international Lesbian Lives conferences, Sirens conference for women in fantasy literature, and the Now Festival of New Writing. Rachel also studies Irish folklore and Irish language. She is currently at work on her creative dissertation, a young adult fantasy novel.

Second place: “Hands” by Lou Gaglia
Published in Waccamaw

Lou Gaglia teaches middle and high school English in upstate New York and is a long-time T’ai Chi Ch’uan practitioner. His fiction has appeared in Eclectica, Waccamaw, FRiGG, Up the Staircase Quarterly, The Cortland Review, Bartleby Snopes, Blue Lake Review, Prick of the Spindle, Untoward, and elsewhere. Poor Advice, his first story collection, will be available from Aqueous Books in 2014.

Third place: “The Eternal Youth of Everyone Else” by Adrienne Celt
Published in Carve Magazine

Adrienne Celt is a writer, translator, and cartoonist. Her fiction appears or is forthcoming in Esquire, The Kenyon Review, Puerto del Solem>, Carve Magazine, The Southeast Review, Gargoyle, Blackbird, and other journals. Her essays, comics, and translations can be found in The Rumpus, Lemon Hound, Cerise Press, Hobart, Gigantic Sequins, Barrelhouse, The Huffington Post, and online at

storySouth Million Writers Award Finalists

Congratulations to these authors, whose work was selected by our finalist judges from among the work selected by our preliminary judges. Thanks to our donors, we will be award over $1000 in cash and prizes to the award-winning stories.

"Invisible Men" by Christopher Barzak

"Secrets of the Sea" by Jennifer Marie Brissett

"The Eternal Youth of Everyone Else" by Adrienne Celt

"Hands" by Lou Gaglia

"Give Her Honey When You Hear Her Scream" by Maria Dahvana Headley

"The Raven" by Jacqueline Kolosov

"All the Things the Moon is Not" by Alexander Lumans

"Everyday Murders" by Jason Ockert

"Lightning My Pilot" by Samuel Snoek-Brown

"Chlorine Mermaid" by Rachel Steiger-Meister

Notable Stories of 2012

Congratulations to these authors, whose work was selected by our preliminary judges from among the work nominated by readers and editors.

"Freezing Time" by Murli Melwani

"All the Things the Moon is Not" by Alexander Lumans

"Dirwhals!" By Ethan Rutherford * (see note below)

"For Old Times' Sake" by Billy O'Callaghan

"Red Planet" By Jo Ann Heydron

"Polly" by Nik Korpon

"Invisible Men" by Christopher Barzak

"Shadows under Hexmouth Street" by Justin Howe

"Secrets of the Sea" by Jennifer Marie Brissett

"Give Her Honey When You Hear Her Scream" by Maria Dahvana Headley

"The Grinnell Method" by Molly Gloss

"Hands" by Lou Gaglia

"Tiny Lives" by by Alan Baxter

"After We Were Nothing" by Alan Stewart Carl

"The Battle of Candle Arc" by Yoon Ha Lee

"Distance" by Susan Tepper * (see note below)

"Sasha, That Night" by G. K. Wuori

"Lightning My Pilot" by Samuel Snoek-Brown

"The Three Feats of Agani" by Christie Yant

"Lone Wolf" by Eric Freeze

"An Occurrence at School" by Okechukwu Otukwu

"The Anastasia Caper" by Bruce Graham

"West" by Ryan W. Bradley

"Woodrow Wilson" by Tim Horvath

"Birthday Americana" by Erika Swyler

"Cousin Barnaby is Dead" by Clifford Garstang

"Reform, AL" by Christopher Lowe

"The Cathedral of Es" by Michael Stein

"Mother Ship" by Caroline M. Yoachim

"Who Cooks for You" By Holly Goddard Jones

"Why I Hate the Holidays" by Andrea Broxton

"Confidante" by Michael Barber

"And the Hollow Space Inside" by Mari Ness

"Chlorine Mermaid" by Rachel Steiger-Meister

"Serkers and Sleep" by Kenneth Schneyer

"Art Lessons" by Gleah Powers

"Household Management" by Ellen Klages

"Everyday Murders" by Jasobn Ockert

"Watching Alice Watch" by Nan Cuba

"Literature Appreciation" by Man Martin

"The Raven" by Jacqueline Kolosov

"The Ones" by Nicholas Rombes

"Treasures Few Have Ever Seen" by Mary Akers

"And the Ruin of That House Was Great" by Ric Hoeben

"The Eternal Youth of Everyone Else" by Adrienne Celt

"The King's Huntsman" by Jennifer Mason-Black

"Melt With You" by Emily C. Skaftun * (see note below)

"The Tree Poachers" by James Zerndt

"The Butterfly Effect" by Daniel Harris

"Ocean of Ash" by Kirsten Perry

More information

Visit our award page for up-to-date information on this year’s contest. For additional questions or inquiries about the Million Writers Award, contact storySouth editor Terry Kennedy at For general updates about the award, be sure to check out storySouth.

Previous Million Writers Awards

Visit the links below to check out award winners, noteable stories, and donors from previous years.

2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004