The 2015 storySouth Million Writers Award

2015 storySouth Million Writers Award winners

First place. “The Snow Children” by Wendy Oleson
Second place. “Jermyn” by Chikodili Emelumadu
Third place. “Syndication” by Allegra Hyde

2015 Finalists

Better than Google” by Joe Pitkin
F-Man” by Colette Sartor
Jermyn” by Chikodili Emelumadu
Miss Columbia Basin” by Heather Brittain Bergstrom
Poppy’s Got Priors” by Joanell Serra
The Snow Children” by Wendy Oleson
Stay” by Zachary Amendt
Syndication” by Allegra Hyde
Throwing in the Towel” by Billy O’Callaghan
Twelve in the Black” by John Thornton Williams

More information

Visit our award page for up-to-date information on this year’s contest. For additional questions or inquiries about the Million Writers Award, contact storySouth editor Terry Kennedy at For general updates about the award, be sure to check out storySouth.

Previous Million Writers Awards

Visit the links below to check out award winners, noteable stories, and donors from previous years.

2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004